If you have a suspended license in Illinois and are confused about what you need to do to apply for reinstatement,do yourself a favor and seek professional legal help. You have options,but you need to know what they are and the best way to exercise them to ensure the best result.
Reliance on Our Vehicles
We tend to take our driving privileges for granted and not think about them much until they are taken away. When we cannot drive,driving is all that we can think about. Let’s look at what happens if,for instance,your license has been suspended because you’ve been arrested on a charge of Driving Under the Influence (DUI).Illinois revoked license
License Suspension for Driving Under the Influence (DUI)
If you have had your license suspended for a DUI,the actual suspension does not begin until 46 days after the date on the “Notice of Summary Suspension.” This notice describes the suspension and details your right to drive in the interim. Numerous factors are considered when deciding the length of your suspension and the first legal option you can exercise is to file a “Petition to Rescind Statutory Summary Suspension” which must be filed within 90 days at with the same court hearing your DUI case.
You may also qualify for a Monitoring Device Driving Permit (MDDP) if you are a first-time offender. An MDDP is a specialized driving permit that allows individuals convicted of a DUI to drive even during the statutory summary suspension period.
What to Expect
Requirements for Illinois License reinstatement vary widely depending on the offense,your driving history and your current situation. Understanding and adhering are best dealt with by a professional law firm experienced in such matters.
If you want to do it yourself at a minimum find out what your options are for the type of Illinois suspended licensethat you are facing. It is often a complicated process,best handled by people who know the law and the system.